Groningen: Rococo Variations with North Netherlands Symphony Orchestra with conductor Martin Sieghart


Wednesday, 29 Sep 2021     
20:00 - 22:00


Trompsingel 27, Groningen, 9724 DA

Event Type

Dirigent Martin Sieghart
Cello Lidy Blijdorp

Smetana Die verkaufte Braut: Ouverture
Tchaikovsky Rococo Variaties op.33
Brahms Symfonie no.2 op.73 in D gr.t.


The Variations on a Rococo Theme in A major, Opus 33 (TH 57 ; ČW 59), was Tchaikovsky’s first composition for cello and orchestra, written between December 1876 and January 1877.  The young cellist Lidy Blijdorp performs in Tchaikovsky’s Rococo variations. Who says ‘rococo’, says graceful – and that is certainly this melodic music. In terms of sound, a cello is close to the human voice. This is where the instrument sounds at its best.

Information and tickets