Van Houten church: Schõnberg sextet 19:30 and 21:00


Saturday, 3 Jul 2021     
19:30 - 20:30


Van Houten kerk
Oudegracht 69, Weesp, 1381 XX

Program around ‘Verklärte Nacht’:

With Julia Philippens, Simone vd Giessen, Joël Waterman, Ketevan Roinishvili and Lidy Blijdorp

String quintet nr. 2 in G-majoropus 111 by Johannes Brahms

Verklärte Nacht opus 4 by Arnold Schönberg

verklarte nacht.jpg

Under the influence of love, Arnold Schönberg wrote the first symphonic poem for chamber ensemble in 1899. He based this unique work on the poem of the same name by Richard Dehmel, in which a woman declares to her lover during a nighttime meeting that she is pregnant with another man.
While Verklärte Nacht caused a lot of misunderstanding among the public during its premiere in 1902, it is now seen as one of Schönberg’s most important works. From grief to resignation and forgiveness, all emotions pass by …

Tickets via the website of the Van Houten church.